OMG ASCP Bathroom Reveal

Hey Ya’ll and welcome back,

I want to make sure Chelsey Frederick gets credit for all her hard work in taking the pictures for this post and the next two weeks. Chelsey is a junior at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, LA and photographs the animals for Hope for Paws. Thanks Chelsey!

This week I have the second half of my clients home to reveal. Last week was her amazing kitchen now it’s two of her bathrooms. My brother was working on her home installing the wood floors when he saw her trying to strip the top of an old cabinet that she wanted to use in her bathroom as a vanity. She found out real fast, as we all do, that she did not want to tackle that job. So he loaded it and brought it home to me. This was the first thing I would do for her. I did not do a post on this cabinet so I can’t link you to anything for more detail. But I will show you a before picture. I had to repair a crack in the door on the bottom.

L's before vanity d/s

This is it when I delivered it.

L's vanity on delivery

I painted it Paris Grey with dark wax.  The center part of the drawer was removed to allow room for the plumbing of the vessel sink which created two narrow drawers on each side. I also painted the inside of the cabinet and drawer a pretty red. I stained the stripped oak wood with MINWAX dark walnut which is what we stained the floors with.

L's cab

L's vanity d/s w/red drawer

This sink was so pretty. It was brown with carvings/grooves cut that revealed a grey color with the inside of the bowl also being grey. It was the perfect sink for this grey-with-dark-wax vanity.

L's d/s vessel on vanity

L's rose on d/s vanity

L's chandelier d/s b/r

The shower was grey marble and had a natural linen curtain that hung from the ceiling and pooled on the floor. She has some amazing light fixtures in her home.  The mirror was the width of the vanity and was between five to six feet tall with a beautiful dark wood frame.

The upstairs bathroom has a completely different feel to it. I will show you with the pictures and describe it as we go.

L's landing

This picture really shows how pretty the floors are.

L's u/s vanity

To get the detail on the dresser turned vanity you can click here.

L's u/s vanity w/vessel sink

L's u/s tub

To the left of this great claw-foot tub there is a toilet and bedet.

L's u/s b/r chandelier

L's u/s mirror

Well there you have it. My first home reveal. What do ya think? 🙂 As always thanks so much for stopping in and don’t forget to say Hi!

Please stay in touch because I will have another home reveal over the next two weeks.

Linking with:

Miss Mustard Seed FFF

14 responses

    • Thank you so much for your visit Barbara. I’m sure you noticed at the beginning of my post that a student photographer took the pics as a volunteer school project.

    • Thanks so much Donna. I am in the same boat you are with the picture taking. That’s why I had a student photographer do this home reveal and the next two weeks of posts on my next home reveal. I am about to invest in a DSLR camera. I just have to create a spot inside like you are. I will stay in touch with you to see how it’s working for you. Thanks for stopping in and saying hi.

      • Picture taking and styling be a challenge!! I’m looking at cameras too…at a Cannon. What Camera model are you look at? My 10-11 year old point and shot got dropped and now I have dark spots at each corner…not good. There are just too many models out there for me…all too confusing! I also cannot spend that kind of money on a camera that I have not tested out first!! I did use a Canon Rebel a year ago and like how that handled so heading in that direction.

        Keep me posted on how your photo wall turns out. I do love mine, now.

        Donna

      • Hi Donna, my daughter took photography classes, littlecottageofmine.com, and will be upgrading her Nikon D3000 DSLR with a 18-55 lens and another one I don’t know the kind. I’m going to learn on this and go from there. I have pinned on Pinterest several links with tips on lighting, etc. we will definitely stay in touch. 🙂

  1. I love that dresser-turned-vanity and would like to try something with a dresser I’ve got. What do you use to protect the top of the vanity from water exposure? I would think a normal poly coat wouldn’t be enough for bathroom conditions. Thanks!

    • Thank you so much Helen and I love your chest in Versailles.
      When my client asks for a piece like this with a wood top I remind them that it is wood and does require special attention…as in water not standing on wood. However, the wax does harden as hard as any polymer would and I apply three coats of Annie Sloan wax as I would a polymer. I also tell them that a white mark could result from standing water but, just like a ring on a dining table, it will disappear. So they go into this with the understanding that it will require a little extra care. Hope this helps. Thank you for reading and please come back. I’m about to start another kitchen! Happy painting!

Leave a Reply

