Vintage Lane Chest

Hey ya’ll and welcome back,

I guess I just can’t help it. Call me ridiculous, soppy, or just plain silly, but I got so excited this week when Ellen, one of my fellow bloggers, wrote a post about their visit to Violet Hill B&B in historic Natchitoches, LA.  I’m sad that we didn’t get to meet and talk but maybe next time. Please visit her blog and say hi maybe you will vicariously enjoy her vacation. 🙂

This week my two nieces will be visiting while they are on vacation from school. Lots of cards and games will be played at the kitchen table. Good times.

While visiting Tres Bien Antiques I was asked to see what I could do to make this Lane Chest look a little better. I loved the lines of it and it is a very solid, nice chest. It had only had about six paint makeovers, one thick layer over another thick layer six times.

Lane Chest before painting

No, the putty knife is not defying gravity, I have the chest lying on its back. 🙂 Unfortunately, the last coat was flaking and on the legs all the layers of paint was pealing off down to the bare wood. I thought it was going to be relatively easy to take care of. I tested for lead then got to work. I thought that after I sanded down the flaking paint I could start painting. WRONG.

Lane Chest sanded top

The plan was to only take off the flaking paint and then add Annie Sloan. However, the white paint then decided it didn’t want to be under the wonderful Annie Sloan Chalk Paint either. It literally started pealing off in sheets.

Lane Chest pealing paint on side

We all know that ASCP will adhere to anything, but I did not want to make it pretty just to have the already-pealing paint underneath to take my finish off. So I removed any and all paint that was intimidated by ASCP and wanted to leave. I got my inspiration from Shauna West.

chalk paint | painted furniture | how to paint furniture | perfectly imperfect

Annie Sloan Coco was the color for this chest, however, I had forgotten how much I had already used so I added one part Pure White. I then painted the drawers Pure White and added dark wax all over. Please don’t judge my pooooooor, poooooor, poooooor picture compared to Shauna West’s Perfectly Perfect picture. 🙂

Finished Lane Chest

I changed out the old pulls with chunky wooden ones that I painted. So what do ya think? I think it looks pretty darn good.

Thanks for stopping in. I love the comments so please say hi. See ya next week.

Linking to Miss Mustard Seed FFF

11 responses

  1. Oh! So pretty! I like it better than the one you modeled it after!
    I enjoy your blog and am really inspired by your work.
    I’m very new to painting furniture however, my husband says I’m ” happiest” when I’m painting!
    ~Martha

    • Thanks so much Martha. I love painting with ASCP too. This is the first time I have done a two-toned piece and I was very pleased with it. Thanks for stopping in and especially for saying hi.

  2. Looks really nice. I like it. Do you ever run into furniture that smells like a bad kind of old and perfume mixed with old people smell? How do you get that smell out and most important What would you charge for a dresser painted like that? I have something similar

    • Hi Ginger,

      I usually air the drawers out for a couple of days if needed. If they look bad I will paint them which will also help get rid of odors. Spraying them with Febreeze too could help. I really haven’t had any problems with that at all. Most of my work now is custom painting so if there is a problem with odor my clients are already aware of it.
      Hope this helped. Please ask any question you have and if I have experience with it I share all my knowledge. Happy painting! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

