The Greatest Compliment

Hey ya’ll and welcome back,

My little three-year-old granddaughter talks to Siri on Kelli’s IPhone and saves the messages to send to her Nana Peg. Go figure for a three-year-old to do something her mother doesn’t even know how to do. 🙂  Our “hug bucket” is getting seriously low of hugs and kisses to pull out when we miss each other.  Hmmmm…what do you do when you are crazy busy and want to take a month off to visit your daughter on Long Island. Okay,  I know I was just up there this summer and she was just down here in August…but it’s winter and withdrawals are setting in. I guess it’s a good type of dilemma to have.  But…it’s something I WILL be working on. So…in the mean time…

In my opinion the greatest compliment someone could give your work is to want you to paint more of their beautiful furniture. So, after I finished the bedroom furniture I featured last week my clients asked me to paint one of their  favorite antique tables. I picked it up on Monday and they needed it back by Wednesday of that week. The chairs, well let’s just say they had to wait a couple of weeks.  The table is really cool in the way the leafs are stored under the top of the table, to slide them out remove the top square and pull them out. The leafs have arms that are notched and rest on the apron of the table to hold them in position, replace the top square and you now have a not-so-square table.

Because of the speed this table had to be finished I failed to get a before picture of the complete table. So here is a picture of the legs. The  table was painted black. The oak wood of the table top was completely hidden under the black paint and the spiral of the barley-twist legs was also lost.

Barley twist legs

Now see how pretty the legs are after they were painted Annie Sloan Versailles with clear wax.

Painted barley twist legs

Here is the top after it was stripped and stained dark walnut with MINWAX stain and waxed with Annie Sloan clear wax.

Barley twist table top

Absolutely beautiful. So after all their company left and the table had been cleared, I was able to pick up the chairs that were also painted black. They are ladder back chairs with woven raffia seats.

IMG_1745[1]

I love how the table is being used between these wicker chairs. It looks stunning in this room that over looks their pool. The four ladder back chairs are not used every day I just needed a picture of it with the table for this post. Thank goodness they are so accommodating to allow me to finally get the picture I needed.

Thanks so much for stopping in and staying a while. Please don’t forget to say hey ya’ll.

 

Linking to:

Miss Mustard Seed FFF

8 responses

Leave a Reply

