Dresser turned Vanity

Hey ya’ll and welcome back,

This is a busy time for historic Natchitoches, LA because of  the annual Fall Pilgrimage Tour of Homes that includes locals dressing in attire of that time period. Natchitoches was settled in 1714 and has some beautiful homes from the early 1800’s.  From now until the first of the year there will be people from all over the world visiting this quaint little town.

I am so excited about my post this week. My brother and I are working with a client that asked me to find a piece to be turned into a vanity for her upstairs bathroom. The requirements were that it could not be more than 33″ tall and it needed to be at least 60″ long. I found several beautiful pieces, but unless you wanted the vessel sink to be chin level they wouldn’t work.

I found a beautiful dresser that met all the needed requirements. I was going to have all my ducks in a row on this post and have my pictures taken but the ducks had other plans. So I have joined the ranks of EVERYONE else whose ducks won’t cooperate. My first picture is after I had taken the drawers out and was ready to start stripping the top.

The dresser came with glass that had been cut to fit its curvy curves so the top was in very good condition. I was able to sand it without having to strip it. I then stained it with MINWAX™ dark walnut.  MINWAX™ is the only stain we have used for decades in our business of refinishing hardwood floors.  We modified the center drawers creating fake fronts to accommodate the plumbing. The center inside was now open for the plumbing. I left the top to be cut by the plumber as he would have the template for the vessel sink.

The choice of color was Old White with dark wax. I thinned the dark wax with Mineral Spirits before applying it and I loved the texture of it and it was very easy to work with.

I am very pleased that this will not  be the last time you see this beautiful vanity as our client has agreed to a reveal of her home when she has moved in. We will be showcasing her floors, kitchen, and both bathrooms.

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to say “Hey ya’ll.” Why not check out our town of Natchitoches and plan a visit.

Update:  This dresser has been sold!

Linked to:

Miss Mustard Seed

13 responses

    • I know, I had her close her eyes until she was in front of it and she started jumping up and down when she saw it. I can’t wait to see the vessel sink and faucet she chooses. I went by the cabinet shop and saw her island and it’s going to be soooo pretty.

    • Well you are welcome back any time. I can recommend several B&Bs as we have done the floors in most of them. Next time you visit come see us at Tres Bien Antiques we are on the same side of the street as Natchitoches’s Walk of Fame. Thanks so much for your time in leaving a comment.

  1. Thanks so much for letting me know you have visited Natchitoches and that you like the vanity/dresser. Please visit us again, stay a while and don’t forget to leave a comment. We love reading and replying to them.

  2. Pingback: OMG ASCP Bathroom Reveal | Southscape Designs

  3. Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.

    I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.

    • Thank you so much. I really enjoyed this project, I joked with my client that I after we had installed, repaired and refinished their hardwood floors, modified two pieces of furniture into bathroom vanities, painted the kitchen with ASCP, refinished the ceiling beam separating the kitchen and dining room her home felt like my home! Lol. You might enjoy the post where I revealed her home. Thank you for stopping by and for saying hi.

Leave a Reply

