Chalkboard Sideboard

Hey ya’ll and welcome back,

This week I started a sideboard that…well… let’s just say was wearing the WRONG  makeup.  Her beauty was lost  under a red shiny finish that was like tons of the wrong color makeup on dew-like skin.  It was hard to even decide how to help because I couldn’t get past the hideous finish. When I first saw her she was without the top portion because the mirror had been broken. We found it in the back room, put it on, and I knew I was going to rescue her and make her beautiful. She sat for a month before I could decide on her beauty treatment.

After dismissing every decision I thought of I finally came up with her make over. I decided she needed a chalkboard instead of a mirror and I wanted her to be ASCP™ Versailles. This color was popular in the Natchitoches area when it was settled in the 1700s and would be stunning in any home today. I also stripped and stained the top dark walnut.

While visiting Kelli in June I watched her make a chalkboard using a picture frame and applying the chalkboard paint to the glass. I knew that would not be an option for me so I searched for the perfect tool to use. A smooth surface is needed and birch wood can be used. Because the surface has to be primed before it becomes a chalkboard I decided to get a sheet of marker board and eliminate one step. It worked perfectly and is as smooth as a baby’s bottom. Next, a jigsaw and I had a party cutting it into an oval. After it was cut I pulled out the handy orbital sander, smoothed the edges that allowed a perfect fit. Power tools? intimidation? not for this steel magnolia.

My trusty photographer, Kelli, went home to Long Island so please suffer with me until I get the hang of taking the perfect picture.

I warned you about the terrible pictures but not about my terrible handwriting. But enough about that..isn’t she beautiful? As much as I love Versailles I equally love Barcelona orange. So I found an oops paint that couldn’t have been more perfect for the inside.

So here are a few pictures of her details.

Here she is in Tres Bien Antiques in historic downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Look for my post coming soon about our exciting move into Tres Bien Antiques.

Thanks for stopping by. I love to read and respond to your comments and don’t forget to say “Hey ya’ll”.

Linked to:

Miss Mustard Seed FFF

6 responses

    • Thanks Shirley, I love your “cover me” project too. I haven’t tried your color either. I had so much fun with Versailles that I know I will eventually try yours too. Thanks for stopping by and saying hi.

Leave a Reply

