My first…well almost first

I’m very excited for my very first “unveiling” this week!  It was not my first piece to do but it is my first to reveal...and here is how it all came about…

As I mentioned in my first post I fell in love with Annie Sloan chalk paint™.  When I was visiting my daughter Kelli in June and having seen her paint some things around her house, I said that I was going to go home and do this too!  “This” being hunting down like a mad woman any piece of  furniture I could get my hands on and paint it with chalk paint and sell it as my own business! Okay, maybe she did have reason to think “this” could not be done because I hadn’t spent months researching it on the internet like she had and well…I had never actually used chalk paint. But ye of little faith…

As soon as my month-long visit with Kelli came to an end I hurried home and got to work. My conversations with Kelli started out with “but mom…” she said, “but Kelli…” I said. This hesitant doubt from her did not deter me and off I went to find my special pieces that I loved. When I got this piece home I wondered what I was going to do with it. I had already used Old White and I really wanted to paint it Paris Gray. While in the middle of painting it a couple of weekends ago there was a knock on my door. After the Publisher-Clearing-House-Prize-Patrol scream I welcomed in Kelli, her wonderful husband Dan and my sweet three-year-old Lily, all the way from Long Island, New York. Of course she couldn’t wait to get her hands on what I was working on.

I gave creative license to Kelli to finish it but before you see what was done you need to see how it began.This is the first picture in the little store I bought it in. As you can see it looked a little sad so I took it home and gave it some TLC.

The poor thing had an awful finish so I sanded it nice and smooth. Although it is not necessary to prepare the piece before using Annie Sloan’s chalk paint I did not want any color to bleed through so I did sand more than was really necessary. I painted the outside with one coat of Paris Gray and Kelli applied a “whitewash” in Old White.   So here it is taking care of all my mom’s special linens.

The inside has two coats of regular latex paint, color matched to Aubusson Blue.

I can see this cabinet in a bathroom keeping your towels and pretty soaps, a guest bedroom with extra sheets and cozy blankets or in your kitchen displaying a collection of mixing bowls.

Has anyone else tried a whitewash finish?  This was our first time attempting it and we found it a bit of a challenge.  We can see its potential but were hoping for some suggestions for next time!

I can’t wait for you to see my next project.  Please visit Kelli’s blog  as well!  Thanks for stopping by and be sure and say Hi  ya’ll!

Linked to:

Primitive & Proper POWW

17 responses

  1. Pingback: Sharing my Mom’s first reveal! | Little Cottage of Mine

    • Thanks so much. I actually sold just that piece. I know you are sooo happy to have this in your country now. Have fun with it. Thanks for stopping and saying hi!

Leave a Reply

